Customer Comments

"Great fun, learned a lot about hurling, excellent food"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I were the only two in the class when we went for our Kilkenny Way experience. We knew nothing about hurling other than the fact that Irish people worship the sport.

Without explaining each step of the excursion (you can read about it on www.thekilkennyway.com), I'll just say that we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We spent over 3 hours with PJ and a bartender at Lanigan's. We learned about hurling and the traditions and pride of the players and fans. The drills and field time was a lot of fun and we even watched some live games on the "pitch" (field we were practicing on).

The lamb stew and the fish and chips were outstanding back at Lanigan's.

This adventure will definitely be remembered for a long time. Highly recommend!!! Definitely the best activity for the money.

Visited May 2013

Danield528 Nashville, Tennessee

via Tripadvisor


"Lots of family Fun with Kilkenny Way"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 March 2013

PJ and Colum were very passionate about hurling. Our family (our children are 8 & 10 y.o.) had a lot of fun with "hands-on" learning about hurling at a local pitch. Afterwards, we enjoyed a nice and hearty meal. Great value for money spent. Go and try this unique experience!
 

Globetrotter88845 Toronto, Canada

via Tripadvisor


"part sport's history, part walking tour, part training session, all FUN!"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 March 2013

"Coach" PJ has put together something very special and unique. His love for the sport and his pride in his city bleed throughout the eintire session. I took this course with a group of friends and it ended up being probably the VERY BEST THING during out week long trip through Ireland. No other attraction made me get a "Feel" for Ireland as much as the Kilkenny Way. For 20 euro's for great fun and a hearty meal as well, probably the best deal you'll get during a trip to Ireland. Don't mull it over, sign up and DO IT!

Visited March 2013
 

Ken T Overijse, Belgium

via Tripadvisor


"The only way is the Kilkenny way"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was excellent. Richie is absolutely amazing and is so passionate about hurling. He taught us New Yorkers how to hurl and it was a lot of fun. I would highly recommend this for anyone who visits Kilkenny. You haven't experienced Kilkenny until you've experienced hurling.
Visited January 2013
 

Siobhan_Caitlim Glen head, new York

via Tripadvisor


"Fantastic Fun"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 March 2013

PJ Lanigan's introduction to Gaelic hurling is a marvelous way to try the ancient sport. He loves the game and knows everyone in Kilkenny.

The experience includes on-field basic instruction/drills with a hurley and an opportunity to make shots, then a visit to "Legends" bar, a shrine dedicated to the sport. At conclusion, food and a pint are provided back at the pub. We had a blast.

Don't miss this singular experience and do take in a hurling match while in Ireland. Both are highly recommended.

Visited March 2013

Jeffrey R Englewood, New Jersey

via Tripadvisor


"Brilliant hen activity"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 March 2013

Thanks to PJ for a brilliant hen activity. Richie gave us an impassioned introduction to the sport and the traditions behind it. The hurling was great fun and we all felt like we learned something. The food afterwards was a lovely end to the activity. The value was amazing. I highly recommend this for tourists and to hen parties who don't mind getting a little bit mucky.

Visited March 2013

Catherine F Belfast

via Tripadvisor


"Brilliant Hen Party activity"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 March 2013

16 of us had a great time on the Kilkenny Way Experience - Richie and everybody else on the Kilkenny Way team were really friendly and welcoming - all the girls - most of whom were not that sporty and usually not keen on running about much - loved it , brilliant to have a mess about on a pitch, learn about a unique amazing sport and then tuck in to tasty big plates of food in a pub.

It's the best thing to do in Kilkenny
Visited March 2013
 

Jane R Belfast

via Tripadvisor




The Kilkenny Way